IMPORTANT FACTS YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT BOATING LICENSE
Paddlers in the US wonder – Do you need a boating license to kayak?
This is an important question that many paddling enthusiasts want to know. After all, the last thing you want is to encounter issues with legal enforcers.
When it comes to getting a boating license, the answer is not always straightforward.
Information for Paddlers – Do You Need a Boating License?
Kayaking is undeniably a fun and enriching experience.
Nothing beats the excitement of witnessing gorgeous locations while you are on your boat.
You can freely explore and discover new sights and wonders as you paddle along.
However, you need to be on top of certain legal requirements when it comes to kayaking. One of these things is knowing whether you need a boating license for it or not.
The rules vary from one state to another.
For instance, in Pennsylvania, kayaks that are motor-driven require registration and permit before they can travel around public waterways in this part of the country.
All paddlers must also comply with the necessary boating regulations. This involves the use of a life jacket and other PFDs, particularly when kayaking in hazardous and risky conditions.
In Maryland, a non-motorized vessel does not need to be registered. This includes kayaks and paddleboards. But if your kayak has a trolling motor on it, then it must be registered as it does not belong anymore in the classification “manually-propelled water vessel.”
If you are operating a vessel documented in the state of Maryland, you need to obtain a kayak operator license. This is applicable to individuals born on July 1st, 1972 (or after). For this requirement, you must possess a boating safety education certificate.
For those who are operating a motorized watercraft or kayak with a trolling motor in Maryland, the legal age to be able to do so is 12 years and above. Those who are younger than this age must be under the direct supervision of an adult or one who is 16 years and above.
In California, kayaks that are manually-driven do not need to be registered. This applies to all water vehicles that are propelled largely by paddles or oars. But if it is motor-driven, it needs to be registered with the Department of Motor Vehicles.
Additionally, a kayak operator license is a requirement in this state. Those who wish to operate powerboats or motorized kayaks must be in possession of a license. This means that they need to first complete a Boating Education Course in the state before they can operate this type of vessel.
However, non-motorized kayaks are an exemption. If you are paddling a kayak manually, you should be able to do so without having to obtain or present a license.
The legal age for operating a motorized kayak in California is 18 years and above. Individuals who are between 12 and 15 years must be supervised directly by an adult. They must also obtain a boater card issued in California.
What is a Boater Card?
A boater card is a requirement for individuals who are operating boats with a minimum of 15 hp of the motor. This also includes jet skis and other personal vessels. However, you do not need to carry a boater card if you are using a manually-powered watercraft such as a kayak or a canoe.
But it is important to note that each time you kayak, paddle, or sail in a non-motorized boat, you still need to comply with the laws involving boating safety. This is an essential thing to consider even without the need to present a card. Thus, it helps to complete a course on boating safety education to learn more about this.
There are certain people who are exempt from the need to obtain a boater card. These are those who were born before 1955 and operators of fishing boats used for commercial purposes. However, the latter must present a valid boating safety education card or a commercial license when they operate a recreational watercraft.
If you are operating a non-motorized vessel but residing in another state, you can use your vessel for 60 days. But once this limit is over, you need to obtain a card.
The cost of applying for a boater education card varies from one state to another. It may cost $10 in some states and may be different in others, depending on the handling fee. Thus, it is best to check with your state to know the actual cost of securing a boater card.
So, do you need a boating license for a kayak?
For the most part, a boating license is not so much of a necessity when you are operating a kayak or any non-motorized vessel. But there are still important things to think about even if you are not required to present or secure this license.
You need to be aware of safety precautions and practices when you are paddling. It is particularly true if you are heading out in an area that may be a bit risky or somewhere you are not quite familiar with. This way, you will be able to maintain safety in the water and make sure that you achieve a fun and enjoyable experience.
I hope this post has been helpful to you. Now, you are aware of any requirements regarding boating licenses and boater card and whether or not you need these things when using your kayak.